The Halal Welfare Organisation has taken maximum care and effort publishing the following details of various ingredients so that consumers can benefit the basic knowledge of major ingredients, extracts, food additives, food enzymes, processing aid and carriers use for the production of processed and non processed food.

However, HWO will not take any liability, responsibility or whatsoever in terms of the 100% authenticity of the ingredients as some extracts or ingredients are vague related to their sources. The manufactures have not clearly specified/stated the source of extracts in the ingredients on various products.

It should be noted that a product being imported from a Muslim Country is not necessarily a guarantee that it is completely Halal. Similarly, food often imported from abroad into Muslim countries without the screening or detailed labelling of ingredients is really a grey and suspicious area. This is an area refer to further investigation by specialists.

Surprisingly, products for example cow milk, butter or goat cheese on the shelves does not actually mean that its Halal for consumption as the preservatives may contain animal fats which may not be Halal. This should be checked carefully by a consumer before its consumption. Easy solution for a consumer/ layman is to ring or write the manufacturer’s or retailer’s customer service and enquire the details of all ingredients including the preservatives and all related sources.

Nowadays, food technologists have applied various methods of alternative extracts or sources which are 100% suitable for vegetarians.

HWO as an endorser is working hard talking to the producers and retailers regarding detailed labelling in order to protect the consumer rights and protection.

HWO aims to educate the consumer to acquire the basic knowledge of ingredients. An alphabetical guide of Halal and Haram ingredients is stated below. Also a handy app. is under progress in order to provide the maximum consumer confidence and support for the consumption of Halal food.

The definition for the following terms are stated below :

An ingredient is a substance that forms part of a mixture (in a general sense). For example, in cooking, recipes specify which ingredients are used to prepare a specific dish. Many commercial products contain a secret ingredient that is purported to make them better than competing products. In the pharmaceutical industry, an active ingredient is that part of a formulation that yields the effect expected by the customer.

National laws usually require prepared food products to display a list of ingredients and specifically require that certain additives be listed.

In most developed countries, the law requires that ingredients be listed according to their relative weight in the product. If an ingredient itself consists of more than one ingredient (such as the cookie pieces which are a part of "cookies and cream" flavour ice cream), then that ingredient is listed by what percentage of the total product it occupies, with its own ingredients displayed next to it in brackets.

A preservative is a substance or a chemical that is added to products such as food, beverages, pharmaceutical drugs, paints, biological samples, cosmetics, wood, and many other products to prevent decomposition by microbial growth or by undesirable chemical changes. In general, preservation is implemented in two modes, chemical and physical. Chemical preservation entails adding chemical compounds to the product. Physical preservation entails processes such as refrigeration or drying.[1] Preservative food additives reduce the risk of foodborne infections, decrease microbial spoilage, and preserve fresh attributes and nutritional quality. Some physical techniques for food preservation include dehydration, UV-C radiation, freeze-drying, and refrigeration. Chemical preservation and physical preservation techniques are sometimes combined.

‘Food additive’ shall mean any substance not normally consumed as a food in itself and not normally used as a characteristic ingredient of food, whether or not it has nutritive value, the intentional addition of which to food for a technological purpose in the manufacture, processing, preparation, treatment, packaging, transport or storage of such food results, or may be reasonably expected to result, in it or its by-products becoming directly or indirectly a component of such foods.

‘Food enzyme’ means a product obtained from plants, animals or micro-organisms or products thereof including a product obtained by a fermentation process using micro-organisms.

‘Processing aid’ shall mean any substance which:

  • (i) is not consumed as a food by itself;
  • (ii) is intentionally used in the processing of raw materials, foods or their ingredients, to fulfil a certain technological purpose during treatment or processing; and
  • (iii) may result in the unintentional but technically unavoidable presence in the final product of residues of the substance or its derivatives provided they do not present any health risk and do not have any technological effect on the final product.

‘Carriers’ are substances used to dissolve, dilute, disperse or otherwise physically modify a food additive or a flavouring, food enzyme, nutrient and/or other substance added for nutritional or physiological purposes to a food without altering its function (and without exerting any technological effect themselves) in order to facilitate its handling, application or use;

GM FOOD : According to the World Health Organization, "Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) can be defined as organisms (i.e. plants, animals or microorganisms) in which the genetic material (DNA) has been altered in a way that does not occur naturally by mating and/or natural recombination. The technology is often called 'modern biotechnology' or 'gene technology', sometimes also 'recombinant DNA technology' or 'genetic engineering'. Foods produced from or using GM organisms are often referred to as GM foods.

AN ALPHABETICAL DEFINITION GUIDE

An alphabetical list of Halal, Haram & Mashkook / Mushbooh ingredients to look out for:

Halāl ( "permissible"), is an Arabic term also spelled hallal or halaal, is any object or action which is permissible to use or engage in, according to Islamic law. The term covers and designates food and drink as well as matters of daily life.[1] It is one of five Ahkam—fard (compulsory), mustahabb (recommended), halal (allowed). Haram is an Arabic term meaning "forbidden". Thus it may refer to: either something sacred to which access is forbidden to the people who are not in a state of purity or who are not initiated into the sacred knowledge; or to an evil thus "sinful action that is forbidden to be done". The term also denotes something "set aside", thus being the Arabic equivalent of the Hebrew concept קָדוֹש‎ Qados. Acts that are haram are typically prohibited in the religious texts of the Quran and the Sunnah. The category of haram is the highest status of prohibition.

Makruh In Islamic terminology, is a disliked or offensive act literally "detestable" or "abominable" one of the five categories in Islamic law. Wajib/Fard (obligatory), Mustahabb/mandub (recommended), Halal/Mubah (permitted), Makruh (disapproved), Haram (forbidden). Though it is not Haram (forbidden) or subject to punishment, a person who abstains from this act will be rewarded. Muslims are encouraged to avoid such actions when or as possible. It is one of the degrees of approval (Ahkam) in Islamic law.

Examples : Examples of something considered Makruh are the use of a great amount of water for the pre-prayer ablutions (ritual washings) known as the wudu and ghusl, the consumption of Onion before attending the mosque. An example of a food which considered Makruh for Muslims of the Hanafi Madh'hab is prawns (but only on Hanafi Madh'hab). Hanafis believe that you should refrain from it and eat something else if possible.

Mushbooh / Mashkook is a food designation in Islam. Literally meaning "doubtful" or "suspect," foods are labelled mushbooh when it is unclear whether they are Halal (consumption is permitted) or Haraam (consumption is prohibited). This clearly means that it is an area to investigate carefully the ingredients and their entire sources satisfactorily before the consumption.

List of Halal and Haram Food Ingredients

FOOD INGREDIENTS NUMBERS WITH NO E-PREFIX

E-NOS NAME DESCRIPTION HALAL STATUS
Bacon A side of pig meat (pork). HARAM
Cholesterol Type of fat generally of animal origin. If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is Halal. MUSHBOOH
Diglyceride Emulsifier If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known. MUSHBOOH
Gelatin (Jello Gelatin) Usually of animal origin, mostly from pig. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, then it is halal. MUSHBOOH
Glycerol (Glycerine) It could be of animal, plant or Glyceryl-Stearate synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspected. MUSHBOOH
Hormones Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement. MUSHBOOH
Lard Fat from swine particularly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us. HARAM
Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid) Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source. MUSHBOOH
Mono Glycerides When derived from animal source. (Halal when the source is plant). MUSHBOOH
Pepsin Pepsin is an enzyme that breaks down proteins into smaller peptides (that is, a protease). It is produced in the stomach and is one of the main digestive enzymes in the digestive systems of humans and many other animals, where it helps digest the proteins in food. Pepsin's proenzyme, pepsinogen, is released by the chief cells in the stomach wall, and upon mixing with the hydrochloric acid of the gastric juice, pepsinogen activates to become pepsin. Pepsin is an aspartic protease, using a catalytic aspartate in its active site. A digestive enzyme mostly from pig stomach. HARAM
Rennin (Rennet) A protein Enzyme. Usually not labelled. Rennet is a complex of enzymes produced in the stomachs of ruminant mammals. Chymosin, its key component, is a protease enzyme that curdles the casein in milk. This helps young mammals digest their mothers' milk. Rennet can also be used to separate milk into solid curds for cheesemaking and liquid whey. In addition to chymosin, rennet contains other important enzymes such as pepsin and a lipase. Rennet is used in the production of most cheeses. The mammal's digestive system must be accessed to obtain its rennet. Non-animal alternatives for rennet are suitable for consumption by vegetarians. HARAM
Shortening Fats and oils of animal origin and also vegetables. Shortening is any fat that is a solid at room temperature and used to make crumbly pastry and other food products. Shortening is used in pastries that should not be elastic, such as cake. Although butter is solid at room temperature and is frequently used in making pastry, the term "shortening" seldom refers to butter, but is more closely related to margarine. If the ingredients are from vegetable fats then its HALAL but if its derive from animal fats not slaughtered according to the shariah guidelines then its Haram. Subject to the detailing it is MASHKOOK until further investigation. Halal/Mashkook
Vanilla Vanilla is a flavouring derived from orchids of the genus Vanilla, primarily from the Mexican species, flat-leaved vanilla (V. planifolia). HALAL
Vitamins Haram when from animal source. Mostly the source is synthetic or plant and are Halal. Subject to investigation - MUSHBOOH
Whey Used in ice creams and yogurt. Haram when from animal source. MUSHBOOH
Antioxidants Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.1 HALAL
Ascorbic acid Vitamin C. HALAL
Benzoate (Benzoic acid) Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used for food preservation. HALAL
Biotin A member of the B complex vitamins. HALAL
BHA An antioxidant, preservative. HALAL
BHT An antioxidant, preservative. HALAL
Citric acid Sources are plant, usually of the citrus family. (e.g. orange, lime, lemon). HALAL
Cobalamin Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12. HALAL
Dextrin An emulsifying, sizing, and thickening agent. Dextrins are a group of low-molecular-weight carbohydrates produced by the hydrolysis of starch[1] or glycogen[2]. Dextrins are mixtures of polymers of D-glucose units linked by α-(1→4) or α-(1→6) glycosidic bonds. Dextrins can be produced from starch using enzymes like amylases, as during digestion in the human body and during malting and mashing. HALAL
Fiber Sources are plant. Provide roughage to diet. HALAL
Gliadin (Gluten) Protein found in wheat and rye. HALAL
Hydrogenated oil Vegetable oil being hydrogenated making it solid at room temperature. HALAL
Iodine A nutrient for thyroid gland. HALAL
Lecithin Emulsifier of fat. Sources are mainly soya bean and egg yolk. HALAL
Lipids Essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal; it is suspected. MUSHBOOH
Malt A kind of fermented grain. HALAL
Molasses Syrup liquid obtained in refining sugar. HALAL
MSG (E621) Flavouring agent – Monosodium Glutamate. HALAL
Niacin One of the B complex vitamins. HALAL
PABA A food supplement. HALAL
Pectin A gelatinous substance extracted from fruits. HALAL
Propionic Acid: A preservative. HALAL
Riboflavin One of the B complex vitamins. Usually the source is synthetic. HALAL
Pure vegetable shortening Source of this kind of shortening is plant. HALAL
100% vegetable shortening Source of this kind of shortening is plant. HALAL
Sweetener Substance that gives a sweet taste. HALAL
Thiamin One of the B complex vitamins. HALAL
Vanillin Flavouring agent, extracted from vanilla. HALAL
Vitamin A If source are plant and synthetic, it is Halal. HALAL
Vitamin C Natural sources are from plant. (e.g. citrus fruit, tomatoes, etc). HALAL
Vitamin D Natural sources are yeast and fish liver oil. Also synthetically produced. HALAL
Vitamin E Rich sources of Vitamin E are vegetable oils. When source is synthetic, it is Halal. If source is animal, it is suspected. HALAL
Water The nutrient most vital to man's existence. HALAL
Food yeast Microscopic, unicellular, fungal plant used for fermentation process and in baking bread. HALAL

FOOD INGREDIENTS NUMBERS WITH E-PREFIX

E-NOS NAME DESCRIPTION HALAL STATUS
E100 CURCUMIN COLOR HALAL IF PURE GRIND TURMERIC
E101 RIBOFLAVIN COLOR MUSHBOOH (HARAM IF FROM PORK LIVER & KIDNEY, HALAL IF 100% PLANT MATERIAL
E102 TARTRAZINE COLOR MUSHBOOH
E103 QUINOLINE YELLOW COLOR MUSHBOOH
E110 SUNSET YELLOW FCF/ ORANGE YELLOW S COLOR MUSHBOOH
E120 COCHINEAL/CARMINIC ACID COLOR HARAM ACCORDING TO ULAMA FROM UK & SOUTH AFRICA
E122 CARMOISINE/AZORUBINE COLOR MUSHBOOH
E123 AMARANTH COLOR HALAL IF 100% PLANT MATERIAL W/O ALCOHOL
E124 PONCEAU 4R/COCHINEAL RED A COLOR MUSHBOOH (SYNTHETIC)
E127 ERYTHROSINE BS COLOR MUSHBOOH
E131 PATENT BLUE V COLOR MUSHBOOH
E132 INDIGO CARMINE/IDIGOTINE COLOR HARAM ACCORDING TO ULAMA FROM UK & SOUTH AFRICA
E140 CHLOROPHYLL COLOR HALAL IF NOT EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E141 COPPER COMPLEX OF CHOROPHYLL COLOR HALAL IF NOT EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E142 GREEN S/ACID BRILLIANT GREEN BS COLOR HALAL IF SYNTHETIC MATERIAL ARE HALAL
E150 CARAMEL COLOR/WITH CHEMICALS (E-150 A-D) COLOR HALAL
E151 BLACK PN/BRILLIANT BLACK BN COLOR HALAL IF SYNTHETIC MATERIAL ARE HALAL
E153 CARBON BLACK/VEGETABLE CARBON (CHARCOAL) COLOR MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF 100% VEGETABLE DERIVED
E160A ALPHA, BETA, GAMMA COLOR - CAROTENE MUSHBOOH
E160B ANNATTO, BIXIN, NORBIXIN COLOR - CAROTENE MUSHBOOH, MAY BE MIXED WITH GELATIN
E160C CAPSANTHIN/CAPSORBIN COLOR - CAROTENE MUSHBOOH, MAY BE MIXED WITH GELATIN
E160D LYCOPENE COLOR - CAROTENE MUSHBOOH, MAY BE MIXED WITH GELATIN
E160E BETA-APO-8-CAROTENAL COLOR - CAROTENE MUSHBOOH, MAY BE MIXED WITH GELATIN
E160F ETHYLESTER OF BETA-APO-8-CARTONOIC ACID COLOR - CAROTENE MUSHBOOH, MAY BE EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E161A FLAVOXANTHIN COLOR MUSHBOOH, MAY BE EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E161B LUTEIN COLOR MUSHBOOH, MAY BE EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E161C CRYPTOXANTHIN COLOR MUSHBOOH, MAY BE EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E161D RUBIXANTHIN COLOR MUSHBOOH, MAY BE EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E161E VIOLAXANTHIN COLOR MUSHBOOH, MAY BE EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E161F RHODOXANTHIN COLOR MUSHBOOH, MAY BE EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E161G CANTHAXANTHIN COLOR MUSHBOOH, HARAM IF FROM ANIMAL SOURCE (RETINAL)
E162 BEETROOT RED/BETANIN COLOR HALAL IF NOT EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E163 ANTHOCYANINS COLOR HALAL IF NOT EXTRACTED WITH ALCOHOL
E170 CALCIUM CARBONATE (CHALK) COLOR - INORGANIC MUSHBOOH, HARAM IF FROM ANIMAL BONES, HALAL IF FROM ROCK MINERAL
E171 TITANIUM DIOXIDE COLOR - INORGANIC HALAL
E172 IRON OXIDES AND HYDROXIDES COLOR - INORGANIC HALAL
E173 ALUMINIUM COLOR - INORGANIC HALAL
E174 SILVER COLOR - INORGANIC HALAL
E175 GOLD COLOR - INORGANIC HALAL
E180 PIGMENT RUBINE/LITHOL RUBINE BK COLOR - INORGANIC MUSHBOOH
E200 SORBIC ACID PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E201 SODUIM SORBATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E202 POTASSIUM SORBATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E203 CALCIUM SORBATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E210 BENZOIC ACID PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E211 SODUIM BENZOATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E212 POTASSIUM BENZOATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E213 CALCIUM BENZOATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E214 ETHYL 4-HYDROXYBENZOATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E215 ETHYL 4-HYDROXYBENZOATE, SODIUM SALT PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E216 PROPYL 4-HYDROXYBENZOATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E217 PROPYL 4-HYDROXYBENZOATE, SODIUM SALT PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E218 METHYL 4-HYDROXYBENZOATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E219 METHYL 4-HYDROXYBENZOATE, SODIUM SALT PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E220 SULPHUR DIOXIDE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E221 SODIUM SULPHITE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E222 SODIUM HYDROGEN SULPHITE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E223 SODIUM METABISULPHITE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E224 POTASSIUM METABISULPHITE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E226 CALCIUM SULPHITE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E227 CALCIUM HYDROGEN SULPHITE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E230 BIPHENYL/DIPHENYL PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E231 2-HYDROXYBIPHENYL PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E232 SODIUM BIPHENYL-2-YL OXIDE PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E233 2-(THIAZOL-4-YL) BENZIMIDAZOLE PRESERVATIVE HALAL, IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
E239 HEXAMINE PRESERVATIVE - OTHER HALAL
E249 POTASSIUM NITRATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E250 SODIUM NITRATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E251 SODIUM NITRATE PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E252 POTASSIUM NITRATE (SALTPETRE) PRESERVATIVE HALAL
E260 ACETIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS HALAL
E261 POTASSIUM ACETATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS HALAL
E262 POTASSIUM HYDROGEN DIACETATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS HALAL
E263 CALCIUM ACETATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS HALAL
E270 LACTIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS HALAL
E280 PROPIONIC ACID PRESERVATIVE - ACIDS HALAL
E281 SODIUM PROPIONATE PRESERVATIVE - ACIDS HALAL
E282 CALCIUM PROPIONATE PRESERVATIVE - ACIDS HALAL
E283 POTASSIUM PROPIONATE PRESERVATIVE - ACIDS HALAL
E290 CARBON DIOXIDE MISCELLANEOUS HALAL
E300 L-ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C) ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN C HALAL
E301 SODIUM-L-ASCORBATE ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN C AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E302 CALCIUM-L-ASCORBATE ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN C AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E304 ASCORBYL PALMITATE ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN C AND DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH
E306 NATURAL EXTRACTS RICH IN TOCOPHEROLS ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN E MUSHBOOH
E307 SYNTHETIC ALPHA-TOCOPHEROL ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN E HALAL ONLY IF IT IS MADE WITH ALL HALAL SYNTHETIC MATERIALS
E308 SYNTHETIC GAMMA-TOCOPHEROL ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN E HALAL ONLY IF IT IS MADE WITH ALL HALAL SYNTHETIC MATERIALS
E309 SYNTHETIC DELTA-TOCOPHEROL ANTIOXIDANTS - VITAMIN E HALAL ONLY IF IT IS MADE WITH ALL HALAL SYNTHETIC MATERIALS
E310 PROPYL GALLATE ANTIOXIDANTS - OTHER HALAL
E311 OCTYL GALLATE ANTIOXIDANTS - OTHER MUSHBOOH
E312 DODECYL GALLATE ANTIOXIDANTS - OTHER MUSHBOOH
E320 BUTYLATED HYDROXYANISOLE (BHA) ANTIOXIDANTS - OTHER MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF VEGETABLE OIL IS USED AS A CARRIER, HARAM IF ANIMAL FAT IS USED AS CARRIER. THEY ARE NOT 100% BHA WHICH IS A CHEMICAL
E321 BUTYLATED HYDROXYTOLUENE (BHT) ANTIOXIDANTS - OTHER MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF VEGETABLE OIL IS USED AS A CARRIER, HARAM IF ANIMAL FAT IS USED AS CARRIER. THEY ARE NOT 100% BHA WHICH IS A CHEMICAL
E322 LECITHIN EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM SOY FAT OR EGG YOLK, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E325 SODIUM LACTATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF LACTIC ACID HALAL
E326 POTASSIUM LACTATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF LACTIC ACID HALAL
E327 CALCIUM LACTATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF LACTIC ACID HALAL
E330 CITRIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - CITRIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E331 SODIUM CITRATES MISCELLANEOUS - CITRIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E332 POTASSIUM CITRATES MISCELLANEOUS - CITRIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E333 CALCIUM CITRATES MISCELLANEOUS - CITRIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E334 TARTARIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - TARTARIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL, IF NOT FROM WINE BY-PRODUCT, IN USA IT IS HALAL
E335 SODIUM TARTRATE MISCELLANEOUS - TARTARIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL, IF NOT FROM WINE BY-PRODUCT, IN USA IT IS HALAL
E336 POTASSIUM TARTRATE (CREAM OF TARTAR) MISCELLANEOUS - TARTARIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL, IF NOT FROM WINE BY-PRODUCT
E337 POTASSIUM SODIUM TARTRATE MISCELLANEOUS - TARTARIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL, IF NOT FROM WINE BY-PRODUCT
E338 ORTHOPHOSPHORIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - PHOSPHORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E339 SODIUM PHOSPHATES MISCELLANEOUS - PHOSPHORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E340 POTASSIUM PHOSPHATES MISCELLANEOUS - PHOSPHORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E341 CALCIUM PHOSPHATES MISCELLANEOUS - PHOSPHORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
E400 ALGINIC ACID EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - ALGINATES HALAL
E401 SODIUM ALGINATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - ALGINATES HALAL
E402 POTASSIUM ALGINATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - ALGINATES HALAL
E403 AMMONIUM ALGINATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - ALGINATES HALAL
E404 CALCIUM ALGINATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - ALGINATES HALAL
E405 PROPANE-1, 2-DIOL ALGINATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - ALGINATES HALAL
E406 AGAR EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - OTHER PLANT GUMS HALAL
E407 CARRAGEENAN EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - OTHER PLANT GUMS HALAL
E410 LOCUST BEAN GUM (CAROB GUM) EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - OTHER PLANT GUMS HALAL
E412 GUAR GUM EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - OTHER PLANT GUMS HALAL
E413 TRAGACANTH EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - OTHER PLANT GUMS HALAL
E414 GUM ACACIA (GUM ARABIC) EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - OTHER PLANT GUMS HALAL
E415 XANTHAN GUM EMULSIFIERS AND STABILIZERS - OTHER PLANT GUMS HALAL
E420 SORBITOL SUGAR ALCOHOLS HALAL
E421 MANNITOL SUGAR ALCOHOLS HALAL
E422 GLYCEROL SUGAR ALCOHOLS MUSHBOOH, CALLED GLYCERIN IN USA, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL
E440A PECTIN EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - PECTIN AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E440B AMIDATED PECTIN EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - PECTIN AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E450 A,B,C SODIUM AND POTASSIUM PHOSHATES AND POLYPHOSPHATES MISCELLANEOUS HALAL
E460 MICROCRYSTALLINE / POWDERED CELLULOSE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - CELLULOSE AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E461 METHYLCELLULOSE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - CELLULOSE AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E463 HYDROXYPROPYLCELLULOSE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - CELLULOSE AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E464 HYDROXYPROPYL-METHYLCELLULOSE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - CELLULOSE AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E465 ETHYLMETHYCELLULOSE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - CELLULOSE AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E466 CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE, SODIUM SALT EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - CELLULOSE AND DERIVATIVES HALAL
E470 SODIUM, POTASSIUM AND CALCIUM SALTS OF FATTY ACIDS EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E471 MONO-AND DIGLYCERIDES OF FATTY ACIDS EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E472 VARIOUS ESTERS OF MONO-AND DIGLYCERIDES OF FATTY ACIDS EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E473 SUCROSE ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E474 SUCROGLYCERIDES EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E475 POLYGLYCEROL ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E477 PROPANE-1, 2-DIOL ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E481 SODIUM STEAROYL-2-LACTYLATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E482 CALCIUM STEAROYL-2-LACTYLATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
E483 STEARYL TARTRATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT

FOOD INGREDIENTS NUMBERS WITH NO E-PREFIX

107 YELLOW 2G COLORS MUSHBOOH
128 RED 2G COLORS MUSHBOOH
133 BRILLIANT BLUE FCF COLORS MUSHBOOH
154 BROWN FK COLORS MUSHBOOH
155 BROWN HT COLORS MUSHBOOH
234 NISIN PRESERVATIVE - OTHER MUSHBOOH
262 SODIUM ACETATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND THEIR SALTS HALAL
296 MALIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND THEIR SALTS HALAL
297 FUMARIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND THEIR SALTS HALAL
350 SODIUM MALATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
351 POTASSIUM MALATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
352 CALCIUM MALATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
353 METATARIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
355 ADIPIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
363 SUCCINIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
370 1, 4 - HEPTONO LACTANE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
375 NICOTINIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
380 TRIAMMONIUM CITRATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
381 AMMONIUM FERRIC CITRATE MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
385 CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA MISCELLANEOUS - SALTS OF MALIC ACID HALAL
416 KARAYA GUM EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS HALAL
430 POLYOXYETHANE (8) STEARATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - FATTY ACID DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
431 POLYOXYETHANE (40) STEARATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - FATTY ACID DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
432 POLYOXYETHANE (20) SORBITAN / POLYSORBATE 20 EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - FATTY ACID DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
433 POLYOXYETHANE (20) SORBITAN MONO-OLEATE / POLYSORBATE 80 EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - FATTY ACID DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
434 POLYOXYETHANE (20) SORBITAN MONOPALMITATE / POLYSORBATE 40 EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - FATTY ACID DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
435 POLYOXYETHANE (20) SORBITAN MONOSTEARATE / POLYSORBATE 60 EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - FATTY ACID DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
436 POLYOXYETHANE (20) SORBITAN TRISTEARATE / POLYSORBATE 65 EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - FATTY ACID DERIVATIVES MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
476 POLYGLYCEROL ESTERS OF POLYCONDENSED ESTERS OF CASTER OIL EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
478 LACTYLATED FATTY ACID ESTERS OF GLYCEROL AND PROPANE-1, 2-DIOL EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
491 SORBITAN MONOSTEARATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
492 SORBITAN TRISTEARATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
493 SORBITAN MONOLAURATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
494 SORBITAN MONO-OLEATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
495 SORBITAN MONOPALMITATE EMULSIFIERS AND STABILISERS - SALTS OR ESTERS OF FATTY ACIDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS 100% FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
500 SODIUM CARBONATE / SODIUM BICARBONATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: CARBONATES HALAL
501 POTASSIUM CARBONATE / POTASSIUM BICARBONATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: CARBONATES HALAL
503 AMMONIUM CARBONATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: CARBONATES HALAL
504 MAGNESIUM CARBONATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: CARBONATES HALAL
507 HYDROCHLORIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: HYDROCHLORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
508 POTASSIUM CHLORIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: HYDROCHLORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
509 CALCIUM CHLORIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: HYDROCHLORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
510 AMMONIUM CHLORIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: HYDROCHLORIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
513 SULPHURIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: SULPHURIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
514 SODIUM SULPHATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: SULPHURIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
515 POTASSIUM SULPHATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: SULPHURIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
516 CALCIUM SULPHATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: SULPHURIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
518 MAGNESIUM SULPHATE MISCELLANEOUS - ACIDS AND SALTS: SULPHURIC ACID AND ITS SALTS HALAL
524 SODIUM HYDROXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ALKALIS HALAL
525 POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ALKALIS HALAL
526 CALCIUM HYDROXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ALKALIS HALAL
527 AMMONIUM HYDROXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ALKALIS HALAL
528 MAGNESIUM HYDROXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ALKALIS HALAL
529 CALCIUM OXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ALKALIS HALAL
530 MAGNESIUM OXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - ALKALIS HALAL
535 SODIUM FERROCYANIDE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER SALTS HALAL
536 POTASSIUM FERROCYANIDE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER SALTS HALAL
540 DICALCIUM FERROCYANIDE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER SALTS HALAL
541 SODIUM ALUMINIUM PHOSPHATE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER SALTS HALAL
542 EDIBLE BONE PHOSPHATE (BONE-MEAL) MISCELLANEOUS - ANTI-CAKING AGENTS HARAM
544 CALCIUM POLYPHOSPHATES MISCELLANEOUS - ANTI-CAKING AGENTS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM MINERALS, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL BONES
545 AMMONIUM POLYPHOSPHATES MISCELLANEOUS - ANTI-CAKING AGENTS HALAL
551 SILICON DIOXIDE (SILICA SALT) MSCELLANEOUS - SILICON SALTS HALAL
552 CALCIUM SILICATE MISCELLANEOUS - SILICON SALTS HALAL
553 MAGNESIUM SILICATE / MAGNESIUM TRISILICATE (TALC) MISCELLANEOUS - SILICON SALTS HALAL
554 ALUMINIUM CALCIUM SILICATE MISCELLANEOUS - SILICON SALTS HALAL
556 ALUMINIUM CALCIUM SILICATE MISCELLANEOUS - SILICON SALTS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM MINERALS, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL BONES
558 BENTONITE MISCELLANEOUS - SILICON SALTS HALAL
559 KAOLIN (ALUMINIUM SILICATE) MISCELLANEOUS - SILICON SALTS HALAL
570 STEARIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER COMPOUNDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF THE SOURCE IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
572 MAGNESIUM STEARATE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER COMPOUNDS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF THE SOURCE IS FROM PLANT FAT, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL FAT
575 GLUCONO DELTA-LACTONE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER COMOUNDS HALAL
576 SODIUM GLUCONATE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER COMPOUNDS HALAL
577 POTASSIUM GLUCONATE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER COMPOUNDS HALAL
578 CALCIUM GLUCONATE MISCELLANEOUS - OTHER COMPOUNDS HALAL
620 L-GLUTAMIC ACID MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF IT IS FROM PLANT PROTEIN, HARAM IF IT IS FROM ANIMAL PROTEIN
621 MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE (MSG) MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF ALL INGREDIENTS INCLUDING CULTURE MEDIA TO GROW CULTURE FROM HALAL SOURCE, HARAM IF MEDIA IS FROM PORK FAT
622 MONOPOTASSIUM GLUTAMATE MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF ALL INGREDIENTS INCLUDING CULTURE MEDIA TO GROW CULTURE FROM HALAL SOURCE, HARAM IF MEDIA IS FROM PORK FAT
623 CALCIUM GLUTAMATE MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF ALL INGREDIENTS INCLUDING CULTURE MEDIA TO GROW CULTURE FROM HALAL SOURCE, HARAM IF MEDIA IS FROM PORK FAT
627 SODIUM GUANYLATE MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS HALAL
631 SODIUM INOSINATE MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH
635 SODIUM5 - RIBONUCLEOTIDE MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH
636 MALTOL MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN THE PROCESS
637 ETHYL MALTOL MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN THE PROCESS
900 DIMETHYLPOLYSILOXANE MISCELLANEOUS - FLAVOUR ENHANCERS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN THE PROCESS
901 BEESWAX MISCELLANEOUS - GLAZING AGENTS HALAL
903 CARNAUBA WAX MISCELLANEOUS - GLAZING AGENTS HALAL
904 SHELLAC MISCELLANEOUS - GLAZING AGENTS MUSHBOOH, UNDER CONSULTATION WITH ISLAMIC SCHOLARS, A GUMMY SECRETION MATERIAL FROM THE PORES OF AN INSECT COCCUS LACCA THAT FEED ON PALAS TREES IN INDIA AND SOUTH ASIA. THIS GUMMY MATERIAL IS CALLED LAC.
905 MINERAL HYDROCARBONS MISCELLANEOUS - GLAZING AGENTS HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED
907 REFINED MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX MISCELLANEOUS - GLAZING AGENTS MUSHBOOH, HALAL IF OBTAINED FROM HALAL SOURCE
920 L-CYSTEINE HYDROCHLORIDE MISCELLANEOUS - COMPOUNDS USED TO TREAT FLOUR MUSHBOOH, HARAM IF IT IS OBTAINED FROM HUMAN HAIR, HALAL IF IT IS MADE FROM HALAL SYNTHETIC MATERIAL. NO OPINION IF IT IS MADE FROM CHICKEN FEATHERS
924 POTASSIUM BROMATE MISCELLANEOUS - COMPOUNDS USED TO TREAT FLOUR HALAL
925 CHLORINE MISCELLANEOUS - COMPOUNDS USED TO TREAT FLOUR HALAL
926 CHLORINE DIOXIDE MISCELLANEOUS - COMPOUNDS USED TO TREAT FLOUR HALAL
927 AZODICARBONAMIDE MISCELLANEOUS - COMPOUNDS USED TO TREAT FLOUR HALAL